And on that day when my strength is failing..

…the end draws near, and my time has come. But still my soul sings your praise unending. 10, 000 years and then forevermore. 

Mark 5: Jesus Restores a Demon-possessed man. (CLICK HERE TO READ FIRST)

I have been reading this passage for a few days, and it seems like every time I read it, something new is revealed to me. I want to highlight key points that stood out for me. The first thing is that, at a glance this story seems totally un-relatable. I mean, come on…a demon-possessed man? What’s the application for my life? However upon further reading I felt it was a direct parallel to my life as a Christian.  Here is this man, completely isolated from the village and from the people, living in the tombs of the mountains. He is literally being tormented day and night by the demons within him. “Night and day among the tombs and in the hills he would cry out and cut himself with stones.” When I read this I was filled with sadness for him. This passage highlights such characteristics of our God that we need to hold on to.

1) God has FULL authority, over spirits and demonic powers. Ephesians 6:12: For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. THESE THINGS EXIST. Do not live your live in naive ignorance of the battle raging on around and within us. A Legion in those times was a military measurement referring to 3000-5000 men in a platoon of soldiers.

2) Jesus met him first. He came out of the boat, and the man ran and fell on his knees, yelling, “What do you want with me, Jesus, Son of the Most High God? In God’s name don’t torture me!” I feel this is an image of Jesus in our relationship. He is already present, already waiting, already desiring to have us in our entirety and in our devotion to Him. All we need to do is MEET him, it is an active thing that the man did–running from a distance.

3) I feel the man who was living in the wild, was in unrest. Night and day, living unclothed, in misery, and probably battling depression, cutting himself, tormented by the evil within. He wanted out, he cried in pain! The parallel for me here is that the life he lived is like the sinner’s life who is unaware to the pain they cause to themselves and the misery they are in but in their torment all they need is the simple meeting of Jesus. To come to the highest authority on earth, in heaven, and in hell. The result? Restoration.

4) Jesus has a command for the man. “Go home to your own people and tell them how much the Lord has done for you, and how he has had mercy on you.” This is what we need to be doing. Going to our own circles of friends and family, and sharing with them the amazing things that have happened in our spiritual lives, not by our doing, but by God’s alone.

Praise of the day: http://youtu.be/sDkFL7yCGps

Leave a Reply

