Out of Egypt and Out of Slavery.

In Leviticus 11:45 it says, I am the LORD who brought you up out of Egypt to be your God; therefore be holy, because I am holy.

This verse alone is fuel for many sermons, but the point I want to make is that, the Lord took the Israelites out of slavery in Egypt! In Exodus 6:6 God says, “I am the Lord, and I will free you from the burdens of the Egyptians and deliver you from slavery to them. I will redeem you with an outstretched arm and with mighty acts of judgement. I will take you as my people, and I will be your God. You shall know that I am the Lord your God, who has freed you from the burdens of the Egyptians. I will bring you into the land that I swore to give to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob; I will give it to you for a possession. I am the Lord.”

The Israelites’ journey to the Promised Land actually should have taken a few days, however in their disobedience a short journey turned into 40 years in the wilderness. This can be a depiction of our life in sin and enslavement to an addiction. Christ desires to have us live our lives in the fullness and reward of the Promised Land aka a thriving, and exhilaratingly, ELECTRIFYING relationship with Him.

Don’t be content roaming in the wilderness of sin, surrender to God and have His strength be made perfect in your weakness, He WILL deliver you!

Leave a Reply

